More skin care, less makeup

A lot of us (me included) tend to hide behind layers and layers of makeup to conceal all of our blemishes, bumps, and those large pores. Amidst all the concealing and covering up we do, we forget to take care of the biggest organ in our body: our skin.

I’ve had a love/hate relationship with a lot of makeup products recently, mainly because I’ve found that they were not the right products for my skin type, or because they just straight up made my skin break out. To counteract all of the pore clogging effects of makeup,  I tried out a bunch of different skin care items, and found a couple which I’ve grown fond of.

At night, to remove the makeup I wore on my face, I use the Micellar line from SimpleSimple is a skin care brand from the UK which they recently brought to the Philippines, and is available at Watson’s. I bought their Micellar Cleansing Water and Eye Make-Up Remover, and they are just fantastic. Both products remove makeup in just one swipe, and are non-irritating and non-drying. I use the products with these Natural Cosmetic Cotton Pads I got from the newly opened Miniso store in Glorietta. I wish these pads were thicker and softer, though.

IMG_8999.JPG

If I’m travelling, I opt to use make-up remover wipes because they’re easier to bring instead of having to pack bottles into my bag. I love the Q-10 Make-up  Remover Cleansing Towelettes by Purederm. I’m already on my second pack. This is also available at Watson’s.

IMG_4821.JPG

After removing all the makeup, I use an unscented, mild facial wash to make sure my face is squeaky clean. I then proceed to apply a gentle toner and then a moisturizer. At night, I use a night cream. In the morning, I use a moisturizer with SPF. My current favorite is the Cetaphil Dermacontrol Oil-Control Facial Moisturizer. It has SPF 30, and is specially formulated for people like me with oily skin, so it is mattifying but non-drying at the same time. I believe this is available at Mercury Drug outlets nationwide.

IMG_0158.JPG

Following a strict skin care regimen may be a little taxing at first. The routine does need a little getting used to. But I believe the pay-off is worth it. Beautiful skin means you won’t have to wear as much makeup anymore. And if you do decide to wear makeup, it will glide on like a dream and wear better.

Leave a Reply

