Favorite primers

The key to flawless makeup application is a good canvas. The first step to this is making sure you have a good skin care routine in place. The next step is priming your skin for makeup.

There has always been a lot of hype around Benefit CosmeticsPorefessional primer. I used to be a huge fan of that primer because it was great at minimizing pores, however, it wasn’t all that great at keeping my oils at bay.

I recently attended a basic makeup workshop, and was introduced to the Step 1 Skin Equalizer primer line from Make Up For Ever. These products have been in the market for a while, but I never really got to try them until now. I was given deluxe samples to try out, and I just fell. In. Love.

I then went ahead and bought myself some full-size primers from the Make Up For Ever store in Greenbelt.

IMG_0203.JPG

 

These guys are a bit pricey, but they sure do work. You also only need a small amount each time, so they are guaranteed to last you a long time.

Their website promises easier application of foundation with an optimized result and longer wear. It’s true!

The Step 1 Smoothing Primer is designed to fill in and blur out those pores to give you smooth, perfect skin. It is not oily and does not form little beads of residue even when applied using the fingers. I usually apply this to my pore-riddled areas (my cheeks) using a flat foundation brush for even application. Foundation looks absolutely flawless when applied on top of this!

The Step 1 Mattifying Primer does what its name implies – it mattifies. The good thing about this, though, is it does not overly dry the skin. It may, however, enhance dry patches around the nose. I apply this using a flat foundation brush to my T-zone, and it works like a dream. The fact that it suppresses all the shine and excess oil means I do not have to retouch the makeup around my nose, forehead, and chin for almost the entire day.

Verdict for both: 9/10 (only drawback is the price point)

Have you tried these primers? Do they work well for you too?

3 thoughts on “Favorite primers

  1. Pingback: Makeup favorites

Leave a Reply

