Destressing with Netflix

Netflix came to the Philippines in late 2015. Being a movie and TV junkie, I was immediately reeled in. They offered the first month for free, for which I signed up, and never looked back. The monthly subscription rate is pretty reasonable. I pay PhP 550 a month for the premium plan, which is roughly equivalent to $11 per month. It’s so cheap that my husband and I decided to just subscribe to Netflix instead of usual cable, which is more expensive, and something we don’t get to maximize anyway.

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 9.32.03 AM.png

The Netflix content here in the Philippines is different from the U.S., in that the TV shows and movies we have at our disposal are very limited compared to what’s available over there. Nonetheless, it’s still a decent selection. They recently updated the database to include more TV shows and movies, and I couldn’t be happier. 🙂

I’m a homebody. I don’t go clubbing or partying. I’m not a big drinker. I hate staying out late. The only things I do to destress are shopping and staying at home watching TV. And we all know that shopping tends to break the bank, so most of the time, I just sit on my couch and turn Netflix on.

Here are a few of my current favorites:

  • 13 Reasons Why
  • Riverdale
  • Grace and Frankie
  • Designated Survivor

Of course I’m also still waiting for the new seasons of Stranger Things and Orange is the New Black to come back. Who isn’t? 😉

Are you a Netflix junkie, too? How’s the selection in your country? Is it as limited as what we have in the Philippines?

Leave a Reply

