Makeup favorites

IMG_5196.JPG

I love makeup (trying it, buying it, putting it on!), but I only really got the chance to actually learn how to do it properly early this year. By learning, I mean going on youtube and following all the tutorials by Jaclyn Hill and Kathleen Lights. 😉

Putting on good makeup takes a lot of practice and a lot of great products. Here are some of my favorites:

  1. Makeup For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation
    • When applied, this liquid foundation gives a flawless finish, and actually looks like skin! Coverage is medium, but is buildable to full. Best used with their Step 1 Primers.
  2. NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer
    • I mentioned this product in one of my previous posts. It really is my go-to concealer because it does a great job of hiding the nasty dark circles under my eyes, AND brightening them too! This is also great for everyday, when you just can’t be bothered to put on foundation. I just slap this on under my eyes, on my forehead, on my chin, and just blend blend blend with a sponge.
  3. Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder
    • This finely-milled loose face powder is perfect for setting the under-eye area and the rest of the face without giving off a white cast. Great for baking the face too!
  4. Anastasia Brow Definer
    • I love the triangular configuration of this brow pencil! The wider flat side gives me the ability to shade in the more lateral sides of my brows, while the more pointed end allows me to create wispy, hair-like strokes where I need them.
  5. Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion
    • This keeps my eyeshadow in the place the entire day, and prevents the pigments from building up in those little lines.
  6. Anastasia Modern Renaissance Palette
    • I am obsessed with this eyeshadow palette! It has a great selection of extremely blendable warm shades and cool tones. It’s perfect for creating everyday eye looks, and also for creating darker, more glamorous looks for night and big occasions. Pigmentation of each individual eyeshadow is intense, so you only really need a light swipe for great color pay-off.
  7. Makeup For Ever Aqua Smoky Extravagant Mascara
    • I wasn’t a big fan of mascara before because every other product I tried was smudgy and clumpy and difficult to apply. But then I discovered this. I just love the cone-shaped wand on this, which makes it easy to reach those tiny lashes in the corners of my eyes. It does not clump or smudge, and stays on all day.
  8. Benefit Cheekathon “Kick Up Your Cheeks” Blush Kit
    • This set comes with 5 full-sized box o’ powders: Dandelion, Hoola (my go-to product for easy bronzing/contouring), Rockateur, Dallas (my favorite blush ever! It gives me a very natural flush of color), and Coralista. I love bringing this along whenever I travel or go out of town because of the variety. Only drawback would have to be the size of the palette itself; it is pretty big for traveling.
  9. NYX Wonder Stick
    • I bought mine in the shade Universal. The product itself is dual-ended, with a cream highlighter on one end, and a cream contour stick on the other. I use this to contour my nose, and have found it to be very blendable and natural looking. I think this is one of my best purchases of the month. I just LOVE IT!
  10. Becca x Jaclyn Hill Palette
    • This palette comes with 3 blushes (Rose Spritz, Amaretto, and Pamplemousse) and 2 highlighters (Champagne Pop and Prosecco Pop). The blushes are all very very pigmented. You only need to dip your brush in lightly in order to get a pop of color on your cheeks. My favorite in this set would have to be Amaretto, because it looks like a very natural flush. The two highlighters I usually mix together to give myself a fierce glow.
  11. Makeup For Ever Pro Sculpting Lip
    • I got mine in the shade 11, which is like a burnt rose shade. This product comes with a lipstick on one end, and a silvery powder lip highlighter on the other. I tried the highlighter once and it was a disaster. It ended up clumping on my bottom lip, and I looked as if someone had sprinkled white eyeshadow on there. Now, I only use the lipstick itself. It comes in a matte finish, and needs minimal touching up throughout the day. It is, however, quite drying, so you may want to put on a little lip balm beforehand to keep some moisture on those lips.
6 thoughts on “Makeup favorites

  1. The NARS Concealer, Urban Decay Primer, and ABH Modern Renaissance Palette are favorites of mine too! I’ll definitely have to try the other products! Nice blog post! Feel free to check out my most recent post too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

