Butter Bronzer by Physicians Formula

It’s summer here in Manila! The heat is unbelievable; today it’s 34 degrees Celsius outside. While a lot of people are out enjoying the sun at the beach, some of us (ie. Me) prefer to keep it cool indoors with the airconditioning on full blast. When I do go out, however, I prefer to look bronzed and sun-kissed, as if I’d been out at the beach getting the perfect tan.

Like many of the great beauty products from the US and abroad, Physicians Formula isn’t readily available here in the Philippines. Makeup junkies like me have to order online thru Sephora, or buy from different resellers. Luckily enough, my sister went on a trip to the States a couple of weeks back, and brought me home a Butter Bronzer!

The packaging is okay, made of sturdy plastic with a little tropical vibe going on. The compact itself is pretty bulky because underneath the bronzer is a compartment for the sponge applicator (which I have not tried; I use a brush with this), and a nice mirror.

IMG_9431.JPG    IMG_9429.JPG

IMG_9430.JPG

This Butter Bronzer, according to the Physicians Formula website, is infused with Murumuru Butter, Cupuacu Butter, and Tucuma Butter. It is an ultra-rich bronzer designed to moisturize and condition the skin while giving you that “radiant Brazilian goddess glow” at the same time. Pretty bold claims, huh?

I’ve been using this product for the past two weeks, and I love it! I think it truly delivers on its promise of giving you that radiant glow.

IMG_9432.JPG

The pigmentation on this bronzer is a little bit lighter than Benefit‘s Hoola, but is enough to give you that sun-kissed look, and enough to warm up the complexion. I have a fair to medium skin tone, and this shade delivers a perfect glow to the skin, and is able to provide that oomph to my everyday makeup look. On darker skin tones, though, I don’t think this color would show up that much, if at all.

This bronzer does have a slightly creamy consistency when swiped with a finger, but there is a little bit of powder kick-up when you dip your brush in.

The only thing I’d say I don’t like about this is its scent. I know a lot of people have been raving about the smell of this product, saying that it smells like the beach, but for me, it is a little bit overpowering. The scent is certainly somewhat tropical, but it reminds me more of the smell of Hawaiian Tropic sunblock and after-sun lotion. The scent also lingers on the face for quite a while.

Verdict: 9/10

I love how this product gives me that radiant, beachy glow, but I just dislike the smell. That being said, I would still use this over and over again.

8 thoughts on “Butter Bronzer by Physicians Formula

Leave a Reply

